Champions feted at USRA Awards Banquet

Competitors in the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series were honored Friday night inside the Star Pavilion during the annual USRA Awards Banquet at the Ameristar Casino Hotel in Kansas City.

Among those in the spotlight were six national champions, 10 regional champions, 58 track champions and a trio of special series champs, along with several special recognition awards.

Headlining the honorees were Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national champions Darron Fuqua (USRA Modifieds), Mitch Hovden (American Racer USRA Stock Cars), Lance Hofer (USRA Late Models), Kris Jackson (Out-Pace USRA B-Mods), Dustin Gulbrandson (Cook Racing Supplies USRA Hobby Stocks) and Ryan Bryant (USRA Tuners).

Fuqua, Jackson and Bryant emerged as first-time national champs while Hofer earned his second title in as many seasons. Meanwhile, Hovden and Gulbrandson claimed a record-setting fifth crown in their respective classes.

Read full article here.